Defeating Discouragement

Have I not commanded you? Be strong and courageous. Do not be terrified; do not be discouraged for the LORD your God will be with you wherever you go.

Joshua 1:9

Defeating Discouragement and the Struggles of Life

Sometimes things don’t look too bright. Times of turmoil and sadness tend to bring people down and during these times it’s terribly easy to give into discouraging thoughts that can dig very deep holes into your soul then quickly fill back up with even more discouraging thoughts. Being a teenager I often times go through times of disappointment or sadness that eventually weighs down on my mental state of mind. Such times give you thoughts like; Why’d this have to happen? Will things ever get better? How can things improve? There’s no hope for this situation. Thoughts like these somehow manage to sink into our heads at our lowest points and often times take control of us. If you were to ask me what my least favorite year was I’d instantly, “The last half 2013 and the beginning of 2014.” I think almost everyone has that one year that just didn’t turn out the way they wanted. That was the end of the year   and the beginning of the year for me. Those two years were times of friendship struggles. I had always struggled with making friends even at a very young age. Five year old me didn’t want to have to do with anyone let alone go off and make friends. Picture this, someone not wanting to make friends but wanting to make friends. Two completely different sides to the story that just bashed heads for a few years instead of coming up with a resolve. Finally it came to a point where I HAD to make friends. So it took a few months until I actually managed to build good friendships with people that I still know to this day. Things were looking very bright for me until someone asked me, “Why don’t you ever talk about what you’re going through?” I asked her what she meant and she replied, “You just seem sad sometimes but when everyone asks you just say ‘everything is fine’ then smile.” It hit me at that moment that the average human being depended on their friends to talk about things. This was completely unheard of. I didn’t know that I was meant to do that, I didn’t even know how. Discouragement and turmoil had kept me from thinking that maybe I should actually talk about it instead of festering so deeply on whatever was bothering me. These thoughts, these struggles had kept me from thinking about anything else. In times of discouragement you think you are totally alone and that talking to anyone about it is totally out of the question which is entirely false. There’s ALWAYS someone who is more than happy to talk to you and help you through these situations of doubt, fear, discouragement and turmoil. Can’t think of anyone? Parents, close friends, family members, God! There is legitimately always someone so next time you are hit hard with something discouraging or a situation that is rough then depend on someone I named off. In the long run God is always going to be someone to listen and help. Talk about it. Don’t feel alone. There’s always someone to talk to.

Those who know your name will trust in you, for you, LORD, have never forsaken those who seek you. Psalm 9:10

E.J.

Leave a Reply

